Public talk on the history of apartments and condos in Vancouver

Local historian Michael Kluckner is giving a public talk on the history of apartments and condominiums in Vancouver, on June 2. It’s a Vancouver Heritage Foundation event – tickets available here.

I’m posting the event here because I think that Airbnb (and other short-term rental sites) are now part of Vancouver’s housing story, especially the part about apartments and condos, and so will become part of its housing history, too. We’ll have to wait and see to what extent. I’m hoping to learn some things I can use in my thesis at this talk – and to eventually contribute some knowledge to the history of apartments and condos in Vancouver myself, through my thesis. I’m assuming Kluckner will draw on a key academic article about the history of condos in Vancouver, which I’ve mentioned elsewhereThe Condominium and the City: The Rise of Property in Vancouver, by Douglas Harris. The abstract is here.

I know Michael Kluckner is a good and well-organized speaker, based on a previous “brief history of” talk of his I attended a couple years ago on gentrification. That was held at SFU and you can view the video here.

Leave a Reply

